Espace Membre Rejoindre l’ADIAF Logo ADIAF Logo ADIAF

The artist

Valérie BELIN

Valérie BELIN

Born in 1964 in Boulogne-Billancourt (FR) 

Lives and works in Paris (FR) 

Represented by the gallery Nathalie Obadia, Paris (FR)

 

Proceeding by series and by a work of great formal rigour, Valérie Belin strives to question the modalities of the photographic image and the relationship of the image to reality. Systematically analysing the nature of the medium, she is particularly interested in the role of light that she analyses in a rich chromatic complexity of greys, blacks and whites and that she envisions as much a tool for modelling the shape as an indicator of the image. She has developed a singular style, neither documentary nor naturalistic, relying on a context-free treatment of the subject, based on powerful contrasts that heighten its graphic character and of close-up shots that make it monumental.
Valérie Belin re-empowers photography as an art of the grammar of volume, of space and of the shot, dealing once again with sculpture and painting, where she revisits the genres of portrait painting and still life as much as she does abstraction. As an instrument of vision and sensitive experience of the world, photography is removed from its relationship with the real and its definition is stretched to its most abstract dimension, whatever the subject might be.

Valérie Belin’s subjects are models subjected to the ordeal of depiction. All treated in the same way with the same value, from classic to contemporary and from sumptuous to trivial, they acquire an impressive presence which literally commands the eye and questions perception. Valérie Velin gives the accent and the velvety softness of the natural to artificial subjects, while the natural subjects become plastic jewels under her light. Freaks become realistic and horror splendid. In a gallery of portraits which treats the human figure in an iconic manner, wax and magazine models exchange their skin tones while the muscular corpulence of bodybuilders and the sartorial attire of oriental women flaunt the extremes in ideals of beauty. The reflections of glass in the crystal mirrors cut infinite holes into the shot of the image while meat carcasses and torn plastic compete for preciousness… the gleam and the preciousness of Valérie Belin’s images confound the eye.

Olivier Grasser

More about the artist :
https://valeriebelin.com/

Artiste Valérie BELIN

Espace Membre Rejoindre l’ADIAF Logo ADIAF Logo ADIAF

L'artiste

Valérie BELIN

Valérie BELIN

Née en 1964 à Boulogne-Billancourt
Vit et travaille à Paris
Représentée par la galerie Nathalie Obadia à Paris

Nommée au prix Marcel Duchamp en 2004

Procédant par séries et par un travail d’une grande rigueur protocolaire, Valérie Belin s’attache à interroger les modalités de l’image photographique et le rapport de l’image à la réalité. Analysant systématiquement la nature du médium, elle s’intéresse en particulier au rôle de la lumière, qu’elle analyse dans une riche complexité chromatique de gris, de noirs et de blancs, et qu’elle envisage autant comme outil de modelage de la forme que comme révélateur de l’image. Elle a développé un style singulier, ni documentaire ni naturaliste, reposant sur un traitement du sujet hors de tout contexte, à base de contrastes puissants qui en exaltent le caractère graphique et de cadrages serrés qui le monumentalisent.
Valérie Belin réinvestit la photographie en tant qu’art de la grammaire du volume, de l’espace et du plan, comme une reprise en charge de la sculpture et de la peinture, où elle revisite autant les genres du portrait et de la nature morte que de l’abstraction. En tant qu’instrument de vision et de l’expérience sensible du monde, la photographie est démontée dans son rapport au réel et sa définition en est poussée jusque dans sa dimension la plus abstraite, quel qu’en soit le sujet.

Les sujets de Valérie Belin sont des modèles, soumis à l’épreuve de la représentation. Tous traités de la même manière, avec la même valeur, du classique au contemporain et du somptueux au trivial, ils acquièrent une présence impressionnante qui assigne littéralement le regard et questionne la perception. Aux sujets artificiels, Valérie Belin donne l’accent et le velouté du naturel, et les sujets naturels deviennent sous sa lumière des joyaux plastiques. Les aberrations deviennent réalistes et l’horreur splendide. Dans une galerie de portraits qui traite l’humain de la figure à l’icône, mannequins de cire et de magazine échangent leurs carnations, le corps modelé des bodybuilders et les atours vestimentaires des femmes orientales étalent les extrêmes des canons de la beauté. Les reflets de verre dans les miroirs en cristal cisaillent le plan de l’image de brèches d’infini, carcasses de viande et déchirures de plastique rivalisent de préciosité… la rutilance et la préciosité des images de Valérie Belin confondent le regard.

Olivier Grasser


Expositions (sélection)

2009
Valérie Belin. Made Up, Peabody Essex Museum, Salem.
Darkside II. Photographic Power and Violence, Disease and Death Photographed, Fotomuseum Winterthur.
elles@centrepompidou, Centre Pompidou, Paris.

2008
Valérie Belin, Galerie Jérôme-de-Noirmont, Paris.
Valérie Belin, Photographies 1996-2006, Maison européenne de la Photographie, Paris.

2007
Valérie Belin, Huis Marseille - Museum for Photography Amsterdam, Pays-Bas

2006
Beyond Real. Surrealist Photography and the Sculpture from Bay Area Collections, San Francisco MoMA, San Francisco.

Artiste Valérie BELIN