Espace Membre Rejoindre l’ADIAF Logo ADIAF Logo ADIAF

The artist

Rebecca BOURNIGAULT

Rebecca BOURNIGAULT

Born in 1970 in Colmar (FR) 

Lives and works in Paris (FR) 

Represented by the gallery Eva Hober, Paris (FR)

 

Video maker, photographer and painter, Rebecca Bournigault has placed the question of the portrait at the core of her artistic practice: whether she is depicting herself or capturing the personality of a friend or someone anonymous, the question of the gap that can be widened between the physical, psychological, social or ideal self runs through all of her work. Rebecca Bournigault composes simple, spare images which, besides the references to personal matters or news items, tend to concern man in his global nature. In this sense, the work in series that the artist develops is part of the will to attain the essence, the generic character of a subject, of a sensation…
Thus, in one of the artist’s watercolour series Clin d’œil (2005), the female character is off-centre and confined to the left-hand corner of the paper, thereby inviting the viewer to search for the expression suggested by the title and share the connivance between the viewer and the viewed. Above all a surface of communication, the face then becomes the instrument of desire and the mechanism of seduction, as already analysed by the artist in her video Portraits-maquillage (1996) is then set into motion.
In the series Les Émeutiers (2006), begun after the French riots of November 2005, Rebecca Bournigault pursues her encounter with others, but this time refusing the obviousness of the face in any exchange. Here, the portrait is centred but the masked character appears as if evanescent, caught up in the image’s background. The title gives us an indication of the portraiture: the name of a country, Panama, Haiti… However, this information is only secondary since the person concealed under the rioter’s scarf is not perhaps in the country being evoked or even from that country. Here again, only the expression of the rioter provokes the viewer to question his capacity for rebellion or resignation.

H. C.

More about the artist :
http://www.evahober.com/?page_id=7824

Artiste Rebecca BOURNIGAULT

Espace Membre Rejoindre l’ADIAF Logo ADIAF Logo ADIAF

L'artiste

Rebecca BOURNIGAULT

Rebecca BOURNIGAULT

Née en 1970
Études à l’École des beaux-arts de Bourges
Vit et travaille à Paris
Représentée par la Galerie Dominique Fiat à Paris

Nommée au prix Marcel Duchamp en 2000

Vidéaste, photographe, peintre, Rebecca Bournigault a mis au cœur de sa pratique artistique la question du portrait : qu’il s’agisse de se représenter elle-même, de capter la personnalité d’un ami ou d’un anonyme, la question de l’écart qui peut se creuser entre le moi physique, psychologique, social ou idéal traverse toute son œuvre. Rebecca Bournigault compose des images simples, épurées, qui, sous des dehors de références à l’intimité ou à l’actualité, concernent plutôt l’homme dans sa globalité. En ce sens, le travail par séries que développe l’artiste participe de cette volonté d’atteindre l’essence, le caractère générique d’un sujet, d’une sensation…
Ainsi, dans l’un des Clin d’œil (2005) aquarellés de l’artiste, le décadrage du personnage féminin, confiné dans le coin gauche de la feuille, invite le spectateur à rechercher cette expression que le titre suggère et à entrer dans la connivence entre le regardeur et le regardé. Surface de communication avant tout, le visage devient alors l’instrument du désir : le mécanisme de la séduction, tel qu’il avait déjà été analysé par l’artiste dans sa vidéo Portraits-maquillage (1996), est alors enclenché.
Dans la série Les Émeutiers (2006), débutée à l’issue des émeutes du mois de novembre 2005 en France, Rebecca Bournigault poursuit sa rencontre avec l’autre, mais en refusant cette fois l’évidence du visage dans les échanges. Ici, le portrait est centré, mais le personnage, masqué, apparaît comme évanescent, happé par le fond de l’image. Le titre nous donne une indication sur le portraituré : le nom d’un pays, Panama, Haïti… Pourtant, cette information n’est que secondaire puisque, en fin de compte, la personne dissimulée sous son foulard d’émeutier n’est peut-être ni dans le pays évoqué ni de ce pays. Là encore, seul le regard de l’émeutier provoque le spectateur et le pousse à s’interroger sur sa capacité de rébellion ou de résignation.

H. C.


Expositions (sélection)

2009
Summer show, Galerie Desimpel, Bruxelles.

2008
Les Émeutiers, Galerie Von Bartha, Bâle.

2007
Six cent quarante-quatre millimètres, Galerie Frédéric Giroux, Paris.

2006
Peintures, Atelier Neess, Paris.

2005
La Chambre interdite, Palais de Tokyo, Paris.
Vive, Centre culturel français, Milan.

Artiste Rebecca BOURNIGAULT