Espace Membre Rejoindre l’ADIAF Logo ADIAF Logo ADIAF

The artist

Nicolas MOULIN

Nicolas MOULIN

Born in 1970 in Paris (FR) 

Lives and works in Berlin (DE) 

Represented by the gallery Valentin, Paris (FR)

 

Interview of the artist – 2009

Photographer, video maker and sculptor, Nicolas Moulin is not exclusive in his artistic work halfway between reality and science fiction.
From Vider Paris (1998-2001), a series of computer modified images showing emblematic buildings and monuments of the empty capital covered in concrete up to the second floor, to Goldbarrgorod (2008), an assembly of computer carcasses proposed as a central unit of habitation, his projects question the idealogical conditioning to the work in architecture and urbanism.
Blending simulation and realism, he constructs landscapes of devastation and mystery that plunge us into the “inconceivable universe” that Borges evokes in The Aleph.
The obscure titles that he chooses for his works strengthen the enigmatic character of the images and echo the portmanteau words of the Oulipo just as well as the expressions of the “Newspeak” imagined by Orwell.
Fascinated by utopian architectures, Nicolas Moulin borrows as much from the futuristic projects of Superstudio or Archigram as he does from ancient edifices. Thus, in his photograph Askiatower, he transposes the unfinished hotel “Ryugyong” in Pyongyang – the seventh highest skyscraper on the planet – into the desert as if in echo of the Egyptian pyramids and of the visionary 18th century architect Boullée’s precepts of “buried architecture”. As for Blankudermilq 01, the construction, emerging like a space vessel from the bowels of the earth, evokes a war of the worlds between real urban wasteland and fictional construction. Playing on the supposed veracity granted to the photographer, he flusters the viewer and hastens him into the uchrony of the creators of anticipation.
Placing himself at the intersection of past, present and future time, the aesthetics of ruins, suburban housing settlements and imaginary buildings, Nicolas Moulin depicts a post-apocalyptic world for us.

H. C.

Artiste Nicolas MOULIN

Espace Membre Rejoindre l’ADIAF Logo ADIAF Logo ADIAF

L'artiste

Nicolas MOULIN

Nicolas MOULIN

Né en 1970 , vit et travaille à Berlin
Études à l’École des beaux-arts de Cergy-Pontoise
Représenté par la Galerie Chez Valentin à Paris

Nommé au prix Marcel Duchamp en 2009
Rencontre avec l'artiste dans son atelier - 2009

Photographe, vidéaste, sculpteur, Nicolas Moulin ne connaît pas d’exclusive dans son travail artistique à mi-chemin entre réel et science-fiction.
De Vider Paris (1998-2001), série d’images retouchées par ordinateur, où apparaissent bétonnés jusqu’au deuxième étage des immeubles et monuments emblématiques de la capitale déserte, à Goldbarrgorod (2008), assemblage de carcasses d’ordinateurs proposé comme unité (centrale) d’habitation, ses projets questionnent le conditionnement idéologique à l’œuvre dans l’architecture et l’urbanisme.
Mêlant simulation et réalisme, il construit des paysages de désolation et de mystère qui nous plongent dans « l’inconcevable univers » qu’évoque Borges dans L’Aleph.
Les titres sibyllins qu’il choisit pour ses œuvres renforcent le caractère énigmatique des images, et renvoient aussi bien aux mots-valises de l’Oulipo qu’aux expressions de la « novlangue » imaginée par Orwell.
Fasciné par les architectures utopiques, Nicolas Moulin emprunte autant aux projets futuristes de Superstudio ou Archigram qu’aux édifices antiques. Ainsi, dans sa photographie Askiatower, il transpose l’hôtel inachevé « Ryugyong » de Pyongyang, septième plus haut gratte-ciel de la planète, dans le désert, comme en écho aux pyramides égyptiennes et aux préceptes de « l’architecture ensevelie » de l’architecte visionnaire du XVIIIe siècle Boullée. Quant à Blankudermilq 01, la construction émergeant tel un vaisseau spatial des entrailles de la terre évoque une guerre des mondes entre friche urbaine réelle et construction fictionnelle. Jouant sur la supposée véracité accordée à la photographie, il instaure le trouble chez le spectateur et le précipite dans l’uchronie des auteurs d’anticipation.
Nicolas Moulin se plaçant à l’intersection des temps passé, présent et futur, et des esthétiques de ruines, de cités de banlieues et de bâtiments imaginaires nous donne une représentation d’un monde post-apocalyptique.

H. C.

Expositions (sélection)

2009
Dividencke, Galerie RLBQ, Marseille.

2008
Dämmeryugyonngbleibt, La BF15”, Lyon.

2007
De Nicolas Moulin Ichwerdeskan, Chapelle des Pénitents, Aniane.
Lacdatch, Galerie Chez Valentin, Paris.

2006
Etametastabl, C/O, Kulturelles Forum für Fotografie, Berlin.
Visiover, Galerie des Ponchettes, Nice.
Ichwerdeskan-Action Somnoldom, Nuit blanche, Paris.

2003
A.M.B.R., Musée d’Art contemporain, Marseille.

Artiste Nicolas MOULIN